Bearville Guide Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Unusual bear names and BABW

4 posters

Go down

Unusual bear names and BABW Empty Unusual bear names and BABW

Post by JamieMusicBear61 Mon Dec 12, 2011 3:47 pm

I've been collecting bears since 1988, and I currently have over 400 bears in the hug, including examples of Steiff, Gund, Russ, Robert Raikes/Applause and of course BABW. I also make bears from scratch from time to time. Naturally, finding names for them all hasn't always been easy. Sometimes I go with the name that the manufacturer has given the bear, or sometimes I name the bear after someone I admire.

I've always had an interest in cultures from other countries and sometimes from different periods in history, and some of the bears in my hug have names that reflect that. For example, I once made a bear that I named Ecglaf (roughly pronounced "edge-laugh"), an Old English name that literally means "sword survivor". He was on display at our downtown library as part of a bearmaking competition that took place around the time of the 1998 ice storm (I live in eastern Ontario, Canada), and I didn't get him back until after the storm had come and gone. So his name was appropriate, the "sword" in his case being a metaphor for the ice storm itself. Other examples of unusual names I've given my bears include Laȝamon (named for a 12th-century English poet), Duša (for the main character in the Slovenian film Beneath Her Window) and Æðelnoþ (another Old English name, literally meaning "noble boldness").